Reviews

Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

When I read books, it usually takes a few chapters before I’m hooked. Not with this book. I was hooked within the first chapter. Michelle Hodkin kept me guessing throughout the entire book and I was shocked by every twist and turn there was. Mara Dyer is a character that kept me on my toes the entire book. You never knew what she was going to see next. Noah Shaw is the boy you try not to fall for but can’t help it. He has so many layers that the author has yet to uncover. Daniel Dyer is the brother every girl dreams of having. He gives Mara the space she needs but knows when to intervene.

Most of the book takes place in the present with a few chapters here and there of flashbacks. The author did a fantastic job in making sure the reader knew that it was a flashback and they were just as good as what was going on in the present. With the flashbacks we come to learn about Jude Lowe, Mara’s old boyfriend. Technically, Jude is supposed to be dead when a building collapsed, but we get a surprise at the end of the book. Someone who looks like Jude appears in the last chapter of the book.

Overall, this book kept me on my toes and I finished it within a twenty-four-hour period. The author did a fabulous job with making sure that everything still made some sense under the craziness. I can’t wait to read the rest of the series and would recommend it to anyone.

Leave a Reply

