Reviews

Review: Those We Fear by Victoria Griffith

It’s not very often that I get to read a standalone book. Most of the time, I pick up a novel that I think is a standalone then find out there is a second book when I finish it. The author, Victoria Griffith, dove right into the book. There was no stage setting in the first chapter except that the main character is a part of the Witness Protection Program. The author, at this point, does not indicate why she is a part of the WPP but does indicate that whatever happened to Maria, the main character, was enough to make Maria jump at every little thing.

As the book went on, I became more and more interested in it. I never knew what to expect. I didn’t know whether to think that what was going on was just a person messing with Maria or if the supernatural was involved. Once the author reveals what is really going on, I was shocked. I looked back on everything I read and would have never guessed it.

This book is unlike the rest of the books I read. Most are filled with adventure and romance. Although this book doesn’t completely lack romance it is not until almost the end that there is any real romance occurring. Even without the romance, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It kept me guessing at what was going on and what would happen next. I finished this book within four days and it only took me that long because of being busy with school. It is a very short read but it will keep you hooked until the very end.

Leave a Reply

