Reviews

Review: Shadows by Paula Weston

When it comes to books, I seem to have a soft spot for books about half angels, or simply angels in general. I picked up Shadows by Paula Weston because I had received the third book of the series to review. When I first started reading the book, I did so begrudgingly. At that point, I was only reading it to read my review book. Boy was I unprepared for this book.

It starts off kind of confusing. Gaby’s, the main characters, memories aren’t her real memories and when people from her past start showing up all hell seems to break loose, almost literally. The first person we meet from her past is Rafe. She has no clue who he is but is interested in him when he brings up her deceased twin brother, Jude. As things progress, she meets other people from her past. All of them are shocked when they find her with no memory of them. And she is just trying to figure out where she fits in this other world, who she was before her memories were changed, and why had her memories been changed in the first place.

As the book progresses, you struggle with who’s side you’re on, who you can trust, and what happened to cause Gaby to have these false memories. By the end of the book a bombshell is dropped that could rock Gaby’s world all over. Is her brother really dead? If he’s alive, does he think she’s dead? So many questions go unanswered in the first book of The Rephaim series that it will have you reaching for the next book.

Overall this book was great. It took me a while to adjust to some of the wording due to the fact that the author is from Australia. Such as the word arse being used instead of ass. Once I got used to a few wording changes, I loved it. This book started a love for a whole new set of characters that I did not set out to love. The Rephaim series has a total of four books and have all been released in the US as of June of this year. I’d give it a 4.8/5 and would recommend it to anyone who has a love for half angels.

Leave a Reply

