Other Blog Posts

Top 20 Most Anticipated Young Adult Book Reads

I know it’s been a while since I last posted but I have been in the longest reading slump of my life and couldn’t figure out what to blog about that wasn’t a review. This reading slump has lasted for the last two months and it is killing me. Of course, WattPad and FanFiction.net is not helping this reading slump either. Anyways, this is my first attempt at a non-review blog post, so go easy on me.

For my first non-review blogpost, I decided to write about my most anticipated YA reads. Some of these books are already published while others have yet to be released. So, below are my top 20 most anticipated young adult book reads.

1. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.

Release Date: Already Released.

This book caught my attention the moment I saw people talking about it on their Bookstagram accounts. It seems like my kind of read and with all the hype about the series, I am assuming that it’s worth the read.

2. Gemina (The Illuminae Files) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.

Release Date: October 18th, 2016

When I finally got the courage to read Illuminae this summer, I was drawn in almost immediately. I loved how the book was laid out and I am ecstatic to see how they continue that kind of format in this book.

3. Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare.

Release Date: November 15th, 2016

When the Bane Chronicles came out, I really wanted to read them but didn’t want the e-book edition. My patience paid off with them coming out with the physical copy. When I found out about the Tales of the Shadowhunter Academy, I assumed the same thing would happen and so I waited. Thankfully my patience paid off once again when I found out that they would be coming out with the physical copy for this book. I can’t wait to get my hands on it and be able to enter the Shadowhunter world once again.

4. Vampire Academy – 10th Anniversary Edition by Richelle Mead.

Release Date: November 29th, 2016

Ever since my best friend introduced me to the Vampire Academy world, I have been addicted ever since. I was super excited when Richelle posted on her Facebook and Twitter that she would be releasing an anniversary edition of VA. Not only will it have a new cover, it will come with additional stories which makes it worth the buy even more.

5. An Illustrated History of Notable Shadowhunters and Denizens of Downworld by Cassandra Clare with Illustrations done by Cassandra Jean.

Release Date: November 3rd, 2016

Anything that has to do with the Shadowhunter world is always an exciting thing for me. I can’t wait to see the illustrations from Cassandra Jean and read the never-before-known details about the characters from Cassandra Clare.

6. Timekeeper by Tara Sim.

Release Date: November 8th, 2016

After reading the summary for this book, I was intrigued. I am a lover for books with a clockwork theme and take place during the Victorian era. This seems like it could be amazing and I can’t wait to find out if that’s true or not. And finding another young adult historical fiction book worth reading is also a plus.

7. Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare.

Release Date: May 23rd, 2017

I couldn’t do this list and not include the second book in the Dark Artifices series. Like I said earlier, I love anything that is Shadowhunter related and this release is no exception. I fell in love with the characters of this series in the first book and can’t wait to see what Cassandra Clare has instore for them. The only thing I’m worried about is the fact that Cassandra Clare is always breaking our hearts. But no matter what Cassandra Clare decides to put my favorite characters through, I can’t wait.

8. Midnight Jewel by Richelle Mead.

Release Date: April 25th, 2017

Although The Glittering Court had mixed reviews across the board, I thoroughly enjoyed it. When I found out that there was a sequel, I was excited but at the same time confused as to what more Richelle could do. When she explained that it is from Mira’s perspective, I was excited. It’s not very often you get to see a story from various characters point of view and, if done properly, I know I will enjoy the second installment of The Glittering Court.

9. Beheld by Alex Flinn.

Release Date: January 2017

I love Alex Flinn’s fairytale retellings and this kind of ties it all together. It is about the witch that turned Kyle Kingsbury (Beastly) into a beast. I can’t wait to find out why the witch does what she does and to know more about her backstory.

10. Bewitching by Alex Flinn.

Release Date: Already Released

It seems to be a retelling about Cinderella and any retelling by Alex Flinn is worth the read in my opinion.

11. Towering by Alex Flinn.

Release Date: Already Released

A retelling about Rapunzel by Alex Flinn. I knew that Alex was coming out with this book but totally forgot about it. Now that I found it again, I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

12. Mirrored by Alex Flinn.

Release Date: Already Released

Just another retelling by Alex Flinn, this time about Snow White. Again, it’s a retelling that I didn’t know about and now that I do, I can’t wait to read it and fall in love with Alex Flinn’s writing once again.

13. Fallen by Lauren Kate.

Release Date: Already Released

This book has been on my to be read pile for a while and with the recent release of the trailer for the movie, it’s probably time I picked the book up. I have a soft spot when it comes to books about fallen angels, so I can’t wait to finally have time to read this.

14. The Iron King by Julie Kagawa.

Release Date: Already Released

I attempted to begin this book right in the middle of my reading slump and it didn’t go well. I know that I will enjoy the book but this reading slump just wasn’t having it. My friend told me that it’s a great series and worth the read, so once I can read anything again, I will definitely be picking this book back up.

15. Wandering Star by Romina Russell.

Release Date: Already Released

Just another book on my long to be read list but one that I really do want to read. I bought this book before buying the first book and have been wanting to read it ever since. I enjoyed the first book very much but didn’t want to get bored during this book so I didn’t go straight into it. This also caused me to forget that it was sitting on my shelf until I made a dedicated TBR shelf. Again, once this reading slump is over, I will definitely be giving this book a read.

16. Tiger’s Voyage by Colleen Houck.

Release Date: Already Released

If it wasn’t for the fact that I couldn’t remember how the second book ended, I would have jumped right into this book. Unfortunately, I couldn’t and so I waited and, of course, forgot about it. Once I have the chance to skim through the ending of Tiger’s Quest, this will be taken off my TBR shelf and read

17. Delirium by Lauren Oliver.

Release Date: Already Released

I happened to see the entire series at my local resale bookstore and grabbed them immediate. I honestly grabbed them with no knowledge of what they were about but now that I do, I’m excited to be able to dive into them eventually.

18. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

Release Date: Already Released

Thanks to Bookstagram, I have seen so many people talk about how great Rainbow Rowells books are. I have been hesitant of reading them simply because they are completely out of my comfort zone. I was also judging it with knowing nothing about the books. So I decided to look up this one and read the summary. I can’t wait to get my hands on this book and read something totally out of my comfort zone.

19. Clockwork Angel (Manga) by Cassandra Clare.

Release Date: Already Released

I have read Clockwork Angel numerous times and now I want to give the manga version of The Infernal Devices series a try.

20. Jackaby by William Ritter

Release Date: Already Released

I have seen this book pop up on my Amazon account. Each time I see it, it intrigues me even more. Just another book to add to a long list of books I want to read.

The books mentioned above are just a few of the many books on my long list of TBR and I know that it will only continue to grow.

What are your most anticipated reads?

Leave a comment