Other Blog Posts

My Year in Books: 2016

As 2016 comes to a close, its time to look back at all the books I read throughout the year. My goal this year was 50 books. According to Goodreads, I didn’t come close to hitting my goal. The thing is I read a lot of stuff that wouldn’t be on Goodreads. Books that Goodreads said I read were the following.

  • To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
  • The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
  • Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick
  • Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick
  • Finale by Becca Fitzpatrick
  • The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
  • Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly
  • The Fiery Heart by Richelle Mead
  • Silver Shadows by Richelle Mead
  • Remembrance by Meg Cabot
  • Tiger’s Quest by Colleen Houck
  • The Evolution of Mara Dyer
  • Zodiac by Romina Russell
  • Those We Fear by Victoria Griffith
  • Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
  • The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead
  • Shadows by Paula Weston
  • Haze by Paula Weston
  • Shimmer by Paula Weston
  • Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  • Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
  • Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
  • Burn by Paula Weston
  • Tantalize by Cynthia Leitich Smith

Clearly it would seem that I didn’t come close to meeting my goal but in a way I did. In May I downloaded the FanFiction.net and Wattpad apps on my phone. Since then I haven’t read many physical books, but I have read hundreds of fanfics and other stories on these two apps. I considered certain lengths to be equivalent to a book and that was how I met my goal. Some of the fanfics that I read were so amazing and I know I will eventually do a post with recommendations on both sites.

How many books were you able to read this year and did you meet your goal? Anyone else have an addiction to fanfiction?

I can’t wait to see what next year has in store for me when it comes to books.

Leave a Reply

