Rust City Book Con 2017

Rust City Book Con Featured Author: An Interview with Stacy McKitrick, Author of the Ghostly Encounters and Bitten by Love Series.

This is the first of many posts to introduce the featured authors that will be joining us at Rust City Book Con in August. Today I get the pleasure to share an interview with Stacy McKitrick.

Let’s start off with questions relating to Ghostly Liaison.

What was your inspiration behind the story for Ghostly Liaison?

Well… my husband said, “Write a story with a ghost in it.” So, I did. J It probably helped that I’d heard stories about the ghosts that haunted my maternal grandmother’s house and church (not that I’d ever seen proof of that, though). I was also a fan of the television show Medium.

Are the characters in this book, and in your other books, based off anyone in your life?

No. I can’t imagine basing a character on an actual person in my life. I like fiction so much more.

Was there anything major that was edited out of this book?

I don’t believe there was. If anything, I had to add stuff.

Give us an interesting fun fact about Ghostly Liaison.

I named Bridget Quigley after my paternal grandmother. The suburb Bridget & Rob live in is a made-up name, but it’s my suburb. I just didn’t want to be called out for the differences.

Are you currently working on a second book for the Ghostly Encounters series?

Yes! Just finished Ghostly Interlude and submitted it. It’s Dean’s story.

I can say that I am very excited about the next book in the Ghostly Encounters series. Now a few questions about writing in general.

How did publishing your first book change your process of writing?

My process hasn’t really changed. I get an idea and start writing. I guess if I had a contract for a certain type of book it would be different, but I haven’t gotten one of those…yet.

What is your schedule like when you’re writing?

Schedule? I’m supposed to have a schedule? J I find I’m most productive right after lunch. I thought I’d prefer to write in the morning (I’m such a morning person), but I can’t seem to focus without checking e-mails, blogs, and Facebook first. I need to learn to ignore them.

Do you have any unique or quirky writing habits?

I can’t write if the TV is on, but I can write if music is playing. And when I’m on a cruise (and I LOVE cruising), I can write up a storm. Is that quirky? Maybe I should just live on a cruise ship. I’d probably get more books written!

Do you have any unpublished or half-finished books? If so how many?

I have an alien romance book I’m saving until I have the next one in that series started (I can’t call it sci-fi romance because it’s not techy). The book after Bite Me, I’m Yours became obsolete when I revised Bite Me, but I was able to resurrect certain elements/scenes and use them in A Vampire Wedding so not ALL was lost. No half-finished books, though. When I start one, I finish it.

Were there alternate endings you considered for any of your books?

I’ve made changes to a book that required the ending to change, so I can’t say it’s an alternate ending because they aren’t interchangeable. It’s a rush when I do figure out the ending, though. And sometimes I don’t know how the book will end until I’m there!

When did you realize you wanted to be a writer?

I realized I WANTED to be a writer after I finished writing my first book and was told it was good. I had no idea it was my passion until then. Before that I just thought it’d be fun. My aunt (Meredith Blevins) is a writer, as is a high school acquaintance and now friend (Meg Gardiner), and their accomplishments made me wonder if I could write, too. Then I read Twilight. That was the catalyst that got me to buy a laptop and try writing. Boy, did I surprise myself!

Which writers inspire you?

J.R. Ward, Lynsay Sands, Darynda Jones, Allison Brennan, Meg Gardiner. They fuel my imagination.

I’ll have to check those authors out. Finally for some “fun” questions.

What was the first book that made you cry?

Love Story. Which isn’t a romance at all.

When you read do you prefer ebooks or the physical copy?

Physical copy. E-readers have their use (when traveling), but I really despise reading on one.

If you were deserted on an island, which three people would you want to have with you? Why? Criteria:

  1. One fictional character from your book
  2. One fictional character from any other book
  3. One famous person that is not a family member or friend

I’d hate to pick three people to join me on a deserted island. Wouldn’t want to doom them to that fate. But I wouldn’t mind having (1) Rob Gentry because he’s a construction worker and can build things, (2) Maggie Russell (from Ghostly Interlude – not published yet) because she loves to cook, and (3) Barry Manilow because I could listen to him sing all day.

What are you working on now?

I just started Ghostly Protector (working title), book 3 in the Ghostly Encounter series, and I’m still getting to know my characters.

If you couldn’t be an author, what would your ideal career be?

I used to be a cost accountant, so I’d probably still be doing that. Wasn’t an ideal career, but it paid the bills.

What is your preferred method to have readers get in touch with or follow you (i.e., website, personal blog, Facebook page, here on Goodreads, etc.) and link(s)?

I can be found here:

Website: http://stacymckitrick.com

Blog: http://www.stacysrantings.blogspot.com

Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/StacyMcKitrickAuthor/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6564751.Stacy_McKitrick

Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/bCN0Oz

E-mail: stacy@stacymckitrick.com

If there was one thing you could say/tell your readers, what would it be?

Read more. It’s good exercise for your brain.

I want to thank Stacy for answering my questions and I hope you check her out. Although I have only read one of her books so far, I can say her books are worth a read.

 

 

One thought on “Rust City Book Con Featured Author: An Interview with Stacy McKitrick, Author of the Ghostly Encounters and Bitten by Love Series.

Leave a Reply

