Other Blog Posts

Reading Habits Tag

So, I was looking at different ideas for blog posts and came across this one from komoberi. I was actually amazed at how easy it was to answer the questions even though some of these questions I never really thought about before. I didn’t tag anyone at the end but if you are reading this and would like to do this, go ahead.

  1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

Technically I don’t but I usually end up reading in my bed. I hope to one day have a special spot but until then, my bed will have to do.

  1. Bookmark or random piece of paper?

I try to use bookmarks but I am notorious for losing them so I usually end up with whatever piece of paper that’s laying around. The only type of bookmark I will use are magnetic ones since they are harder to lose.

  1. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?

I can’t just stop reading. Most of the time I will stop after I have finished a chapter but for authors with very long chapters, such as Cassandra Clare, I will try to find where there is a break in the chapter to stop at.

  1. Do you eat or drink while reading?

Most of the time, yes. I don’t have a problem with it but I won’t eat anything that overly messy. I also have a few books that I will not eat or drink while reading simply because of the age of the book.

  1. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?

I have to really be engrossed in a book in order to have music or tv playing while I’m reading. There are certain albums I can listen to while reading but it usually takes me a little bit to be able to tune out the music to where it just becomes background noise.

  1. One book at a time or several at once?

Several at once. I always say that this is one of the ways my ADHD affects me. I am always in the middle of multiple books until one really grabs me. People are always amazed at how I can keep the details of each book separate.

  1. Reading at home or everywhere?

I try to read everywhere but it seems to be getting harder and harder as I get older.

  1. Reading out loud or silently in your head?

I have never read out loud. It has always been silently in my head. I feel like I would almost get distracted if I read out loud.

  1. Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

I don’t believe I have every skipped pages but I know I have read ahead. It is usually when my eyes happen to skim farther down the page that where I am currently at.

  1. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

I try to keep it like new. It’s harder to do with bigger books (my Breaking Dawn book didn’t make it one time through before the spine broke), so I try my best to not get upset when a spine breaks.

  1. Do you write in your books?

Technically no. If I do write in my books, it will be an additional copy of the book. I never write it first editions or signed editions.

Leave a Reply

