Other Blog Posts

Favorite Book to Movie Adaptation: The 5th Wave

Favorite Book to Movie Adaptation: The 5th Wave

Every time I enter a movie theater about to see a book adaptation, I always try to not get my hopes up about it being exactly what I saw when I read the book. When I went to go see The 5th Wave, I was anticipating how they were going to pull it off. For anyone that did not read the book, there are multiple perspectives throughout the book and the way some of the things were described were done in a way I wasn’t sure how they would translate it. Now it has been some time since I have seen the movie, so I may be rusty on specific details, but I do remember that it was going to be one of my favorite adaptations. There was a lot cut from the book, but I felt that they kept the overall integrity of the book. For the most part, I understood some of the scenes cut and some of the things that were changed. The only thing I didn’t really like that with the scenes that were cut meant details were cut that helped understand exactly what was going on.

A lot of the changes made when bringing this book to a movie were little details that many may not catch the first time watching it. One of the details that was cut that I wasn’t too happy with was that in the movie, the implants don’t kill. I feel like that is a very important detail to understand the Others and, again, to understand what is going on in general. Although there were a lot of things left out and many changes made, I feel like it still did the book justice. I’ve seen movie adaptations that had most of the details from the book right, but the script, directing, or acting was awful. This movie didn’t have all the details but it did have a good script, directing and acting. You can still follow along without having read the book, which I feel is so important. I want to be able to watch a book to movie adaptation with friends or family not have to explain everything, and this movie does that.

What is your opinion on The 5th Wave movie adaptation? Did you think it did the book justice? Why or why not.

P.S. I am not saying this is my number one book to movie adaption but it is definitely one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

